The Customers section of the website has two major components:
- Control over Customer companies access to your system (KYC or Know Your Customer)
- View and edit Customers and their Users details (note, you can also manage both Primary and Secondary users KYC on the Customers page)
Managing Customer Access
When a potential new user registers by creating an account, they are applying for access on behalf of their company and are automatically set as the Primary User for that new company.
When a Customer first registers they (and their company) are immediately placed in a status of 'Pending' approval. A 'Pending' customer cannot access the system until they have been approved by a Support Administrator.
The 'Pending customers' list offers you three possible options (Approve, Deny or View/Edit)
If you select Approve you will be offered the option to add additional Customer reference data.
Customer Code is used in the allocation of customer-specific rates along with the Company Name - contract rates - and should be unique to each Company. Team members can then be invited to the customer account.
note: the shipper must have a different company code to the consignee.
Notes is a free text box where you can add personal notes about the customer ie: VIP Customer
Once 'Save; is selected the Pending list will be updated and your new Customers can now be found in the 'All customers' list.
Important: Users and Companies in Kontainers: When you approve a User Registration request, you are creating a new Primary user for a new company. Adding a Customer Code of another Primary User will NOT associate them with that Company, but will cause an issue if using Contract rates.
If a Customer wants to add a new User to an existing company, they should invite them through the Customer Teams feature on the Customer UI.
The user's record will move from the 'Pending customers' page to the 'Rejected customers' page. The Customer will also be sent an email notification to their registered address informing them of your decision.
Like the 'Pending customers', the 'Rejected customers' list will allow you to Edit your Rejected customer's details or to re-activate their account.
Note: For security and data regulation purposes, the user record is not deleted from the system but is marked as 'inactive'. The user can be re-activated at any time by a Support Administrator. A 'reactivated' user will see all their historical data, contacts etc. when they next log in.
Customer Teams and KYC
When a user is a part of a Customer Team (either Primary or Secondary) there are a few points to be aware of.
- An Administrator can 'Deny' a Secondary user but cannot 'Approve' a Secondary user. Managing Secondary users is solely the responsibility of the Primary Users of a Company.
- The Admin UI will display where a user is Primary or Secondary user.
Be aware when denying access to a Primary User that unless the Customer has appointed another Primary User via the Customer Teams feature, disabling the last Primary User will mean the 'Manage Teams' feature UI is no longer available to the User Company.
IDAM/SSO User Creation: Enterprise users have the Option to integrate via Single Sign-On protocols. In that case operations team will not be required to validate KYC using the Kontainers Admin UI. See here for more information
Copyright © Kontainers.com. All Rights Reserved.